Ace Smith asked: According to researchers, Turkish hackers were able to vandalize international organizations’ official site that works to supervise the important routing infrastructure and control domains of the Internet.
The group named themselves as “NetDevilz”. They managed to momentarily reroute visitors to the web sites for ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) and IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority).
The researchers at zone-h.org, an organization that gather evidence of attacks which includes page vandalism and reroutes, stated that visitors who were visiting iana-servers.com, icann.com, iana.com, internetassignednumbersauthority.com and icann.net were redirected to an illegitimate website. The zone-h.org were able to get a snapshot of the bogus site and it has this statement written on it “You think that you control the domains but you don’t! Everybody knows wrong. We control the domains including ICANN! Don’t you believe us? haha

(Lovable Turkish hackers group)”
IANA is the organization that is responsible in supervising DNS root zone and allocating DNS operators for the top-level domains of the Internet like .org and .com. DNS (Domain Name System) translates the URLs and domains like google.com into an IP address which is an important element of the traffic-guiding infrastructure of the Web.
ICANN supervises IANA and assigns IP address space and controls the top-level domain naming system of the Web.
Maybe, not coincidental to the vandalism, just recently ICANN was in the news voting to relax the rules in allocating and controlling top-level domains. Voting to relax the rules means that organization and other companies can ultimately take control of their own domains. For instance, ebay.com can take control of the .ebay domain and Google can run the .google domain.
Dancho Danchev posted in his blog, a Bulgarian security researcher that the hackers were also able to redirect the visitors of the site Photobucket Inc. into a German hosting service Atspace.com they redirected and used similar IP address, specifically
82.197.131.106, to redirect ICANN and IANA traffic. Some of the defacements done to the sites are still active at the moment. Photobucket still has not releases any official statement but Atspace.com already did.
The spokesman for ICANN was contacted and he was informed about the hack but he stated that he was not aware of it and will not comment until he find out more about the attack.
Zone-H has already sent an email to NetDevilz hacking group asking them on how they were able to hack the domain names. But as expected they decline to reply, so speculations are taking place that states vulnerability of cross-site request forgery or cross-site scripting.
Caffeinated Content
Leave a Reply